This war is noise.


I am back and alive.
March 14, 2009, 1:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have some notes Im going to type up from the first day, and then continue with the second and third from my head cos I couldnt really take notes from then on lol.

“So we left the house at the right time, Grandad took us into town, as he was taking dad on into daycare after leaving us with my cousin, who was taking us to the hospital. She had 2 of her 5 kids there, which I wasnt expecting, but it ended up being a better thing than I’d have first thought lol.

So the drive down goes fine, until a couple of miles, literally a couple lol from the hospital, the left front tire blows out.

My cousin checks the boot, her husband forgot to put the spare back in the car.

So she has to call someone back in town, to go pick it up from her house, then bring it out to us, and we’re just on a dual carriageway, pulled up at some petrol station lol.

At this point, I asked mum had she even called to make sure the hospital had a bed. And she hadnt lol. SO, she starts calling people, and eventually Im told, I have a bed, in a different ward to the one on my letter lol

The guy then takes 2 1/2 hours to find us LOL. As her husband told him we were at the hospital, instead of where we actually were lol and then had trouble finding the right petrol station lol so that was rather amusing. I thankfully had my phone for music and some nestea with me to drink lol. Though all the rest of them went and got chocolate from the garage, I wasnt exactly planning on doing the same lol.

We eventually arrived at the hospital at 1pm [my original time was 10:30am lol] and I was put into the “day room” at the bottom of the ward as there was no beds in the bays or side wards. The TV is broken, my bed wasnt even made up til 2:30pm [time of writing this] and no one even came to see me until 15 mins ago. I finished reading my new book already, and Sara says she’ll come and visit this evening [as the after lunch visiting hours were too close to make.] I’ve brought quite a few books with me, they’ll hopefully distract me from how poor this place really is. The paints coming off the walls, they have old chairs and stuff stored in this room. The windows are so bad and drafty, like the windows that were on my house before we got double glazing in [and my house was originally built in the 50’s]. The toilets are a bit grim, there are used pans everywhere for peoples samples, and the nurses dont pick them up for ages. There was one practically almost dried in. And someone had put one on the shelf were the paper towels for drying your hands are go. Its just horrid. Makes me appreciate just how good the hospital in England actually was 100 times more. I have wipes and tissues with me so I can at least keep stuff clean. I really wish I could just go back home, I hate it here already.

***

The room Im in had two beds in it, and the one next to me hadnt been tidied from when the lady had went home this morning. She had cleared out so fast she’d forgot her cards, tissues, and a bottle of water lol. The inside of one of the cards was facing me –

To,

Baby

[generic get well soon card writing]

Please get well soon…

I’m missing having you at home

I Love You Loads

From

Mark

x-x-x

x

~

I thought it was really sweet. Makes me wish I’d get a card like that.

***

4:35pm – I’ve had my blood tests, blood pressure taken, heart scan, chest checked and finally have seen Dr. Spence [the orig guy that referred me for the operation]. Heard him and a bunch of doctors discussing me out in the corridor first lol rather odd listening to it. They all came in, did a brief check on my stomach, then said 95% keyhole, 5 % open surgery, like he had before. If all goes well I could be home on friday, which I REALLY hope I am. These last two hours I’ve spent reading through my driving theory book and explaining atheism to “Cha”, one of the nurses that came, who took my blood pressure.”

Those are the last of the notes as I was moved and stuff after this. “Cha” was really lazy and forgetful, and I had to remind her to do things she’d told me 5 mins ago that she was going to do. They forgot to even feed me. So when she came back to give me some stockings for clots, she asked had I had dinner, and I said no. I then was given a turkey sandwich and a cup of tea, as the kitchen was closed. Both tasted like shit but I knew if I was going to come through the operation ok, I had to get energy into me lol and I had only had branflakes and the nestea all day. It was after that that they moved me into side ward 3. Private room, own toilet and sink, a tv that worked, was a little cleaner, and the paint a little less damaged lol. Sara never appeared, she had went out for dinner, and ended up with food poisoning, so she spent all that night being sick. I felt really alone and isolated, and got upset a few times quietly to myself. Texted charlotte a bit and she rang me, then mum rang to check up on me anyways. I had found out I was having my operation at 8am. Had a look at the showers, that werent the nicest looking things either, but I wanted one so I asked for some towels, and had one. They then woke me at 6:30am, checked blood pressure, then left the gown for the operation with me and said to have a shower before I go for the op. So I went down to the showers again and theres a half naked old lady at the sink lol asking some other poor woman to get her her towel from the ward lol so I avoided looking in and went to a chair at the side of the door, then the lady came back and said one of the showers were free, so I went on in, keeping my eyes straight ahead lol and had the shower. Watched tv for a little bit, then a guy came to take me down to theatre. He was friendly and nice, and probably the most likeable character I’d come across in the hospital. He said hello to his mum on the way there lol which I dont know if she actually was or not lol funny all the same. Then when I got down to surgery, they asked me had I had a tablet this morning before my operation, I said no, they checked the notes and someone had signed for it at 7am. I was in the shower. They forge fucking notes lol. So the guys werent to happy with that, but we went on ahead, IV was put in, they started doing other positionings with my arm, mask went on, and then I was soon out. Woke up in the recovery bay, and I could feel one wound more than the rest and thought oh fuck they’ve had to cut me open lol but they hadnt, it had all went as good as it could have. I also felt really nauseous and had to get the oxygen mask off asap before I threw up in it. I hate those, the air makes your throat so dry and cold and awful. They gave me something for the pain and nausea, he also noticed a bit of a rash on my arm down from where the IV was, so he put a cloth on that. They gave me one for my head too and I soon felt alright. I was taken back to the ward finally at 11:30am. I rang and texted people to let them know I was alright, watched tv, started drinking plenty and had some toast, as the sooner you pee after an operation, the sooner you’ll get home lol. I cleaned myself up a bit, as they had left iodine on me, and some sticky things. My shoulders hurt like hell, and apparently its to do with when they blow you up to do the keyhole, the air puts alot of pressure on your shoulders and you get all aches around your collarbone too etc, which I really did lol was bothering me alot more than the actual wounds were lol. Mum arrived first to visit at 2:30pm and Sara arrived not long after. Mum stayed til half 3 and Sara stayed full time til the end of visiting, which was 4:30pm. I then had some more toast for dinner, and managed to get through a whole bottle of dilutant juice/3 jugs of ice water, and they removed the drip and stuff from me cos I was eating and drinking fine. Mum brought me in pancakes and crisps and chocolate lol and I had the pancakes and chocolate that night :P. Cha came in and told me she’d get me some medication, and then never brought it, but signed for it before hand, so the next time a nurse appeared, I asked about it and all she could say was she forgot lol. They have no idea in this place lol. I cleaned myself up some more, and changed out of the gown into my pjs [they never took the gown away until I was being picked up lol] and watched tv. I couldnt seem to sleep, and ended up watching something on the Yorkshire ripper, then watched the Wicker man. Finally got to sleep around 2 or 3am, then at 5:30am they came to check my blood pressure, was RAGING lol. I fell asleep for a little after that, then mum rang me at 7:30am anyway, to check if I’d had any word of getting home yet. The nurse had said before that the doctor would see me and I should be getting home today, around lunch time. So that was fine.

Nurse came in to give me breakfast, which was a small bowl of branflakes and some toast, and then said what would I like for lunch. I didnt feel like much, and I was going home so I said she could leave it but she was all “You have to have something!” so I was like ok toast lol lunchtime came and went, and they never fed me lmao again. So I got a packet of crisps and ate those from what mum had brought in. The doctor came and seen me, said once the note and script for my meds came through I could go. I got dressed and packed up, Mum appeared at 2pm, I was in the car and away by 3pm, and got home by 4pm lol. AND NEVER AGAIN, do I want to see that hospital lol.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

awh man, sounds fucking awful.

I’m glad you’re home safe and well

and whats that i see? England was better

thaaaaaats right 😉

love you 🙂 ❤

Comment by Charlotte




Leave a Reply

